Welcome to NYIHA MEDIA, Where Independent Thinkers Connect!

 
 

 

 

 

HOW SHOULD WE FINANCE IMPLEMENTATION OF POST-2015 SDGs by RIGHTING FINANCE 15 SEPTEMBER 2014

The UN’s Inter-governmental Committee of Experts on Sustainable Development Financing met for the last time this month to put the final touches to their much anticipated report on how the world should finance the post-2015 Sustainable Development Goals – or SDGs.

So what have they come up with? The Committee’s report draws up a ‘menu of options’ for the financing of sustainable development. The argument is that this allows policy-makers in different countries to make choices as to what policies and financial instruments are most suited to their specific circumstances. That makes perfect sense, of course: the strategy that will be best for a climate vulnerable small island such as the Maldives for instance will not necessarily be the same for a larger resource-rich country such as Kazakhstan. On the other hand, it could also lead governments to ‘cherry-pick’ among the ideas presented, and to leave the more difficult issues (and potentially those with the biggest impact) to one side.

Discover Our Nursing Programs

SEEING CENTRAL AMERICAN YOUTH AS HUMAN BEINGS, Book Review by David Bacon, 01 SEPTEMBER 2014

Today the tattooed faces and bodies of Salvadoran gang members are put on display for readers of US and European newspapers and magazines in much the same way that images of tattooed indigenous people in New Guinea were used to titillate readers of National Geographic at the dawn of photography more than a century ago.

Young Salvadorans are pictured behind bars or with guns, just as people labeled "savages" were once posed with spears. This is the dehumanization of the indigenous. Even the language accompanying the images carries the same flavor of the exotic, the dangerous, and the "other"-something to frighten comfortable middle-class viewers with what seems an inside look at an alien and violent world.

The people of New Guinea were described as bloodthirsty cannibals. Today National Geographic introduces the 2011 television documentary Gang War USA: El Salvadoran Gang Violence by alleging that "El Salvador is one of the most violent nations on Earth-with 10 times the murder rate of the US-and it's all thanks to imported gangs."

8 REASONS U.S. TRADE AND IMMIGRATION POLICIES--NOT "LAX IMMIGRATION ENFORCEMENT"--HAVE CAUSED MIGRATION FROM CENTRAL AMERICA By David Bacon 3 August 2014

The mass migration of children from Central America has been at the center of a political storm over the past few weeks. The mainstream media has run dozens of stories blaming families, especially mothers, for sending or bringing their children north from Central America.

Courtesy of author

The president himself lectured them, as though they were simply bad parents. "Do not send your children to the borders," Obama said last week. "If they do make it, they'll get sent back. More importantly, they may not make it."